Diamond 4Cs Education

Prior to the period where “Diamonds are the girls’ best friend,” there was no fixed standard on how the diamonds are appraised. During the middle of the twentieth century, the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) created a set of parameters to judge the value of a diamond. It assesses a diamond’s quality through the Diamond 4Cs, and is now a globally accepted and recognized grading system.

In the certificate, you will be able to see the grades for the Diamond 4Cs – Cut, Colour, Clarity, and Carat Weight. Let us find out what they actually mean.

The Diamond Cut

The diamond cut refers to how well a diamond’s facet interacts with light. Out of the Diamond 4Cs, it has the most influence on how bright a diamond will shine.

Learn more: What Does Diamond Cut Really Mean?

The Diamond Colour

The GIA has 2 types of colour grading scales, the D-to-Z Colour Grading and Coloured Diamond Colour Grading. The D-to-Z Colour Grading is based on the lack of colour, while the Coloured Diamond Colour Grading is based on the presence of colour.

Learn more: What Does Diamond Colour Really Mean?

The Diamond Clarity

The Diamond Clarity is graded based on the absence of inclusions and blemishes. Inclusions are small imperfections in the diamond while blemishes are on its surface. Small crystals growth trapped in a diamond during formation deep in the earth causes the inclusions.

Learn more: What Does Diamond Clarity Really Mean?

The Diamond Carat

Although usually used to make quick references to the size of a diamond, the carat size (expressed as ‘ct’) is the measurement of the weight of a diamond. A carat is equal to 0.2 grams, which is about the weight of a paper clip.

Learn more: What Does Diamond Carat Really Mean?